The Quinoa Queen

For the past few months I’ve been learning more about eating clean. That is removing as much of the chemical junk from our diets as possible. There are several strong proponent of this movement, like Tosca Reno, and several great publications like Clean Eating which offer easily manageable ideas and concepts to implement. And I have to say that its becoming easier and easier to do.
One of the things I’ve been enjoying experimenting with is grains. Bored of brown rice night after night, I’ve discovered just how easy it is to cook things that I had previously though way too tricky, like Quinoa. I’m not a big fan of having to soak things overnight, and the less prep involved the more likely it’s going to become and menu staple in our house. Part of my weekly grocery shop is a few bags of Quinoa. If I have extra time I’ll toast it or give it a quick browning in a pan before I cook it, but it’s quite delicious plan after a quick rinse. 2 parts liquid to one cup of Quinoa, and I generally make that liquid a vegetable or chicken broth. Bring it all to a boil, 15 minutes more at a simmer and you’re done. I often prepare all sorts of goodies to throw into our adult portions, like tomato, pine nuts, parsley, celery and onion (not all together!) and I leave the kids’ plain. I’ve even done a version with golden raisins and apricots. I often think that it needs a dash of sea salt before I serve it, depending on what’s inside. My boys love the Quinoa, Mia has to be bribed, and sometimes does her gagging act at the table. But she does the same thing with brown rice, so maybe it’s just a grains thing…

PS: My friend Pam Mathews just shared this delicious lookin’ recipe from the New York Times with me. The possibilities are endless!

About baciamille

I'm Alexia, Alex, Lexi or Lex, depending on who you are. I'm mom to Mia, Maxim and Milan, wife to Darian, the co-creator and CEO known as Fancy Pants at Vuka Energy Drinks. I'm a marathon running, triathlete, musician and writer, wanna be rock star, all time actress, creative, vocal and sometimes just a little crahayzy. I think that's all. One day I plan to spend most of my time on a boat in the Carribean. Oh, and baciamille means a thousand kisses in Italian. I don’t know any other words in Italian.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

